Skip to main content

Ai Ogura Wins the Dutch TT, Triumph’s 100th GP Powering Moto2™

TT Assen Moto2 Racers 2024
Racing Triumph Motorcycles 1st Jul 2024

This weekend, the TT Assen marked Triumph’s 100th race as the official engine supplier to Moto2 and over 192,000 fans attended the Cathedral of Speed to see it.

Somkiat Chantra was the rider on the early charge setting a new all-time lap record before Fermin Aldeguer went quicker still with a 1m 35.269 on his way to pole position. Ai Ogura qualified in second, his best qualifying result of the season so far, ahead of his teammate and Championship leader, Sergio Garcia. Second in the Championship, Joe Roberts crashed in practice, missing qualifying and was declared unfit to race. Chantra crashed in Q2 and lined up 17th despite his early pace.

On a sunny Sunday race day, Ogura got the perfect start to take the lead from Aldeguer, Garcia and Tony Arbolino who shot from seventh to fourth. It wasn’t long before Aldeguer retook the lead from Ogura and Garcia then got through on his teammate. As the pair battled it out, Arbolino took advantage and got into second looking like the Arbolino from last year once again.

Garcia dropped back to sixth at one point but quickly picked his way back to the front group setting a new lap record on the way into a battle with Alonso Lopez for fourth. Ogura passed Arbolino back into second and a battle for third ensued between Arbolino, Lopez and Garcia, the Italian rider losing out and dropping back to fifth. 

Aldeguer, keen to make up for successive DNFs in the last two races put the hammer down and set a series of record breaking laps in the low 1m 36s as he pulled away at the front but Garcia responded, passing his teammate into second and setting the new ultimate lap record of 1m 35.977. 

Garcia made a small mistake allowing his teammate through into second and the leading trio started to pull away but there was drama as Aldeguer was issued a long lap penalty for exceeding track limits for the second time in three races. He crashed taking the LLP in Barcelona but this time he executed it perfectly, slotting in behind Ogura and Garcia. 

The front trio were all on top of each other battling it out until a moment for Garcia saw Aldeguer sneak through. Ogura kept his cool to cross the line victorious ahead of Aldeguer and Garcia.

Behind them last year’s Dutch TT winner, Jake Dixon, had picked his way through from ninth to fourth ahead of Chantra who had a great ride going from 17th to fifth. Arbolino ultimately crossed the line in sixth for his best result of the year so far. 

The Moto2 field heads straight to Sachsenring for the Grand Prix of Germany next weekend, 5 - 7 July. 


Triumph Triple Trophy

Triumph and MotoGP announced a new format for the Triumph Triple Trophy for 2024, where the winner will take home a Street Triple 765 RS prize bike at the end of the season. 

This year, a judging panel picks a short list of three standout riders which will be published on MotoGP’s Instagram stories. Fans can then vote for their favourite. 

The points awarded are in reference to Triumph’s 765cc engine:

  • 7 points for the rider with most fan votes
  • 6 points for the rider with second most fan votes
  • 5 points for the rider with third most fan votes


This week the shortlist is:

1. Ai Ogura for his first from row start of the year and a perfect ride for the win.

2. Somkiat Chantra who was unlucky with a crash in qualifying after his early pace and his great ride from 17th to fifth. 

3. Tony Arbolino for some brilliant battles back at the front again and his first top six finish of the year.


Look out for the Instagram stories on MotoGP’s official Instagram account @motogp to vote for your favourite. 


#PoweredByTriumph #TriumphRacing